Corporate strategy: towards resilient activity

Climate change is a systemic and urgent problem that has to be solved.

  • Radical transformations are needed to achieve low carbon societies with low impact on the environment. These transformations will affect the activities of every company.
  • Without these transformations, greenhouse gases will continue to accumulate in the atmosphere. The major climate changes generated and thus amplified (higher than +2°C) will have significant impacts on the activities of companies everywhere in the world, with negative effects on production assets, infrastructures and supply chains.

Anticipating these changes (whether gradual or abrupt) is therefore necessary to build a corporate strategy capable of achieving medium and long-term resilience.

Scenario-based analysis is a powerful tool and recommended by the TCFD, to question strategic corporate reflection and anticipate the risks and opportunities linked to climate change and having an impact on a company’s activities.

According to the evolution of the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere in the next few decades, scenarios can be radically different and the variances in temperature can vary up to +4.5°C. In every case, companies and organisations must face physical risks and the risks of transition in proportions that will depend on the trajectory taken.


Reducing the impact of climate change on your activities

Physical risks

Challenges

Climate change has started. Whatever our efforts to reduce GHG emissions, in 2035 it will already be 1.5°C warmer than in the preindustrial era. This warming is disturbing our climates, generating numerous and varied physical and financial impacts.

All the value chains of a company can be affected: assets, supplies, logistics, market, etc. These impacts will be magnified and place companies under increasing pressure (losses, lack of finance, destabilisation, or even bankruptcy). It is therefore a strategic option to anticipate these changes and prepare for them.

We assist you to strengthen your company’s resilience to climate change and adapt to future climatic conditions.

  • For an industrial company or infrastructure manager, this entails securing one’s processes against the effects of climate change.
  • For an investor or asset portfolio manager, this entails ensuring the resilience of your investments in the face of climate change.

Our assistance

Carbone 4 assists companies to anticipate the risks linked to the impacts of climate change so they can increase their resilience, and to understand the stakes involved and set up an adapted business strategy.

Carbone 4’s knowhow allows it to assist every actor, guide their reflection and help them to answer questions such as:

  • What are the main risks that threaten my assets and capital?
  • Which of my sites, assets and processes are at greatest risk? And against which climatic events?
  • Are my facilities adapted to future climatic conditions? Should I review my maintenance policies? Are my supply strategies at risk?
  • Will my business plan be affected by climatic impact scenarios?
  • What actions should be implemented to anticipate these risks internally? With the stakeholders?
  • What are the trajectories of adaptation possible for each climate risk identified?

Our approach

Formulating a resilience strategy relies on carrying out a risk diagnostic. Carbone 4 assists you to evaluate risks according to an approach in line with IPCC recommendations and standard ISO 14090. The climatic vulnerability of critical processes is assessed according to a constant climate and then project into the future using the IPCC’s climate scenarios. This method sheds light on critical stakes in the company and the capacities of adaptation to be called into action. It supplies a robust basis for formulating a resilience strategy in the face of climate change.

Our experts are adept in climate risk analysis methods and climate datasets, and they have solid knowhow regarding sectoral vulnerability, sectoral impacts and adaptation actions.


The risks linked to ecological transition

Risks of transition

Challenges

Reaching global carbon neutrality from now to 2070 and limiting climate change to +2°C implies an unprecedented and radical transformation of all economic activities: housing, mobility, territorial development, energy, industrial production, food production, tourism, services, jobs, etc.

Solving the climate crisis directly calls into question the strategy deployed by each company.

As from now, it is necessary for every head of every company to identify the business risks and opportunities associated with the low carbon transformation of our societies. In other words, it entails building a resilient corporate strategy in the face of systemic transformations.

Our assistance

The role of the Strategy Unit is to assist General Management and/or Strategy Management to analyse the company’s strategy and improve it.

Understanding the strategic nature of climate change for the company is fundamental. It can be catalysed by dynamic training dedicated to the Executive Committee or the Management Board. This training is based on the experience of several dozen actions of this type at the highest level of multinational corporations.

This step is carried out by taking the company’s current activities through contrasting paths of low carbon transformation by analysing them according to different scenarios. Faced by the incapacity of forecasting the future and given the wide variety of levers that allow reaching carbon neutrality (from technological advances to sober consumption behaviour), this prospective approach permits identifying the business risks and opportunities linked to different decarbonization scenarios.

Without being predictive, this approach is highly efficient for understanding complex and interconnected evolutions, in other words the systemic transformations brought about by climate change.

To perform this analysis, Carbone 4 proposes a differentiated approach mainly based on the physical flows required by the company’s activity (e.g., m2 built, vehicle fleet, quantities transported, tons of steel produced, etc.) and not only economic indicators (GDP, prices, taxes, etc.). The scenarios employed by Carbone 4 have been built with a panel of experts and approved and refined with a large number of clients, thereby ensuring the pertinence and consistency of the results obtained.

The business “playground” associated with a low carbon scenario can therefore be described physically, for example through the evolution of demand for specific products or services, the evolution of production subject to carbon constraints and the potential influences of competition. The opportunities are qualified and then deepened in a collaborative approach with the company’s teams.

It may be necessary to build a new strategy depending on the risks and opportunities identified for the company’s activities. Carbone 4 assists this process according to three main directions:

  • The definition of a long-term vision;
  • Organising a strategic plan with a horizon from 5-10 years and its consequences on the turnover of the asset portfolio;
  • The identification of “Go to market” approaches for new activities (organic development, acquisitions, etc.) and new business models for existing activities.

Carbone 4 assists and aids the company through each of these steps so it can transform itself in view to making it resilient to the radical transformations needed to reach carbon neutrality on the scale of the planet.

Stratégie d’entreprise : vers une activité résiliente

Le changement climatique est un défi systémique et urgent à résoudre.

  • Pour faire advenir des sociétés humaines bas-carbone et à faible impact sur l’environnement, de profondes transformations sont nécessaires. Les activités de toutes les entreprises seront affectées par ces transformations.
  • Sans ces transformations, l’accumulation croissante de gaz à effet de serre dans l’atmosphère se poursuivra. Partout dans le monde, la forte dérive climatique générée et ainsi amplifiée (supérieure à +2°C) aura un impact majeur sur les activités des entreprises, perturbant les actifs de production, les infrastructures et les chaînes d’approvisionnement.

L’anticipation de ces évolutions (qu’elles soient douces ou brutales) est par conséquent nécessaire pour construire une stratégie d’entreprise permettant de viser une forme de résilience à moyen et long-terme.

L’analyse par scénario est un outil puissant, et recommandé par la TCFD, pour interroger la réflexion stratégique de l’entreprise et anticiper les risques et opportunités liés au changement climatique pour ses activités.

Selon l’évolution de la concentration de gaz à effet de serre dans l’atmosphère dans les décennies à venir, les scénarios peuvent être radicalement différents et les écarts de températures peuvent varier jusqu’à +4,5°C. Dans tous les cas, les entreprises et organisations devront faire face à des risques physiques et des risques de transition, dans des proportions qui dépendront de la trajectoire empruntée.


Réduire l’impact du climat sur vos activités

Risques physiques

Enjeux

La dérive climatique est lancée. Quels que soient nos efforts de réduction d’émissions de GES, en 2035 il fera déjà 1,5°C plus chaud qu’à l’ère préindustrielle. Ce réchauffement bouleverse nos climats, engendrant des impacts physiques et financiers nombreux et variés.

Toute la chaîne de valeur des entreprises peut être concernée : actifs, approvisionnement, logistique, marché etc. Ces impacts vont s’amplifier et soumettre les entreprises à des pressions croissantes (pertes, défauts de financement, déstabilisation, voire dépôt de bilan). Il est donc aujourd’hui stratégique d’anticiper ces changements et de s’y préparer.

Nous vous aidons à renforcer la résilience de votre entreprise à la dérive climatique et à s’adapter aux futures conditions climatiques.

  • Pour un industriel ou gestionnaire d’infrastructures, il s’agit de sécuriser ses processus vis-à-vis de la dérive climatique
  • Pour un investisseur ou gestionnaire de portefeuille d’actifs, il s’agit de s’assurer de la résilience de ses investissements vis-à-vis du climat

Notre accompagnement

Carbone 4 aide les acteurs économiques à anticiper les risques liés aux impacts du changement climatique afin d’accroître leur résilience, et les accompagne dans la compréhension de leurs enjeux et dans la mise en place d’une stratégie business adaptée.

Le savoir-faire de Carbone 4 nous permet d’accompagner l’ensemble des acteurs, de les guider dans leur réflexion et de les aider à répondre à des questions telles que :

  • Quels sont les principaux risques qui pèsent sur mon patrimoine ?
  • Quels sont mes sites, actifs ou processus les plus à risque ? Et vis-à-vis de quels aléas climatiques ?
  • Mes équipements sont-ils adaptés aux conditions climatiques futures ? Mes politiques de maintenance doivent-elles être revues ? Mes stratégies d’approvisionnement sont-elles menacées ?
  • Mon business plan va-t-il être affecté par les scénarios d’impacts climatiques ?
  • Quelles actions mettre en œuvre pour anticiper ces risques en interne ? Avec les parties prenantes ?
  • Quelles sont les trajectoires d’adaptation possibles sur chaque risque climatique identifié ?

Notre approche

L’élaboration d’une stratégie de résilience s’appuie sur un diagnostic des risques. Carbone 4 vous accompagne sur l’évaluation des risques selon une approche en ligne avec les recommandations du GIEC et norme ISO 14090. La vulnérabilité climatique des processus critiques est évaluée à climat constant puis projetée dans le futur à l’aide des scénarios climatiques du GIEC. Cette méthode révèle les enjeux critiques au sein de l’entreprise et les capacités d’adaptation à mobiliser. Elle fournit un socle robuste pour élaborer une stratégie de résilience vis à vis de la dérive climatique.

Nos experts maîtrisent les méthodes d’analyse de risques climatiques, les sets de données climatiques et possèdent une solide expertise de vulnérabilité et d’impacts sectoriels et d’actions d’adaptation.


Les risques liés à la transition écologique

Risques de transition

Enjeux

Atteindre la neutralité carbone d’ici 2070 au niveau mondial et limiter le changement climatique à +2°C implique une transformation inédite et profonde de toutes les activités économiques : logement, mobilité, aménagement du territoire, énergie, production industrielle, production alimentaire, tourisme, services, emplois, etc.

La résolution de la crise climatique questionne donc frontalement la stratégie de chaque entreprise.

Pour tout·e dirigeant·e d’entreprise, il est donc nécessaire d’identifier dès maintenant les risques et les opportunités business associés à la transformation bas-carbone de nos sociétés. En d’autres termes il s’agit de bâtir une stratégie d’entreprise résiliente à ces transformations systémiques.

Notre accompagnement

Le Pôle Stratégie a pour vocation d’accompagner la Direction Générale et/ou la Direction de la Stratégie pour interroger la stratégie de l’entreprise et la faire évoluer.

La compréhension du caractère stratégique du changement climatique pour l’entreprise est fondamentale. Elle peut être catalysée par une formation percutante dédiée au Comité Exécutif ou au Conseil d’Administration. Cette formation se fonde sur une expérience de plusieurs dizaines d’interventions de ce type au plus haut niveau d’entreprises multinationales.

Cette étape s’effectue en plongeant les activités actuelles dans des chemins contrastés de transformation bas-carbone via l’analyse par scénarios. Dans l’incapacité de prédire le futur et sachant qu’une variété importante de leviers permettent d’atteindre la neutralité carbone (des évolutions technologiques aux comportements de consommation sobres), cette approche prospective permet d’identifier les risques et opportunités business associés à différents scénarios de décarbonation.

Sans être prédictive, cette approche est très efficace pour appréhender des évolutions complexes et interconnectées les unes aux autres, c'est-à-dire les transformations systémiques induites par le changement climatique.

Pour conduire cette analyse, Carbone 4 propose une approche différenciante fondée prioritairement sur les flux physiques nécessaires à l’activité de l’entreprise (ex : m2 construits, parc de véhicules, quantités transportées, tonnes d’acier produites, …) et non uniquement sur des indicateurs économiques (PIB, prix, fiscalité, …). Les scénarios mobilisés par Carbone 4 ont été construits avec un panel expert·es et ont été éprouvés et affinés avec de nombreux client·es, garantissant ainsi la pertinence et la cohérence des résultats obtenus.

Le “terrain de jeu” business associé à un scénario bas-carbone peut alors être décrit physiquement, via par exemple l’évolution de la demande pour des produits ou services spécifiques, l’évolution de la production sous contrainte carbone ou encore les potentielles dynamiques concurrentielles. Les opportunités sont qualifiées puis approfondies via une approche collaborative avec les équipes de l’entreprise.

En fonction des risques et opportunités identifiés pour les activités de l’entreprise, la construction d’une nouvelle stratégie peut s’avérer nécessaire. Carbone 4 accompagne ce processus selon trois grands axes :

  • Définition d’une vision long-terme ;
  • Structuration d’un plan stratégique à 5-10 ans et ses conséquences sur la rotation du portefeuille d’actifs ;
  • Identification d’approches “Go to market” pour les nouvelles activités (développement organique, acquisitions, …) ou de nouveaux business models pour les activités existantes.

Au travers de chacune de ces étapes, Carbone 4 accompagne et aide l’entreprise à se transformer dans le but de la rendre résiliente aux profondes transformations nécessaires à la neutralité carbone à l’échelle planétaire.