ClimINVEST: “Assessing climate physical risks for financial decision makers”

24 June 2020

The physical impacts of climate change are expected to worsen over the next few decades, threatening financial investments and activities. Financial decision makers are asked and need to assess these physical climate risks in order to anticipate and manage these risks.

Investors are “in a race to find the best models of climate risks” according to Bloomberg, it reports cautions against potential black boxes approaches and the need for scientific expertise in such studies.

The Climinvest Project brings climate scientists and investors together to provide transparency on methodology for physical climate risk assessment. As part of this project, Carbone 4 presents its new report that introduces a new framework to help decision makers understand risk assessment implementation issues and build capacity for analyzing and managing risks. Commonalities and differences across sectors, type of portfolios and data availability context are presented through several case studies. Challenges and opportunities ahead are identified to ensure climate risk assessments provide useful and rigorous information to financial decision makers.

The webinars give introduction to key topics to understand physical climate risk (climate modeling and calculating climate risk) and dives into different climate hazards (heat, flooding) and case studies on physical climate risk (Shopping center in the Netherlands and railways in Norway).

Share Button
Share Button

ClimINVEST: « Assessing climate physical risks for financial decision makers »

24 juin 2020

[Publication en anglais]

Les impacts physiques du changement climatique devraient s’aggraver au cours des prochaines décennies, menaçant les investissements et les activités financières. Les décideurs financiers sont invités et doivent d’ores et déjà évaluer ces risques climatiques physiques afin d’anticiper et de gérer ces risques.

Les investisseurs sont « dans une course pour trouver les meilleurs modèles de risques climatiques », selon Bloomberg, qui met en garde contre les approches potentielles des « black boxes » et le besoin d’expertise scientifique pour de telles études.

Le projet Climinvest réunit des climatologues et des investisseurs afin de fournir une transparence sur la méthodologie d’évaluation physique des risques climatiques. Dans le cadre de ce projet, Carbone 4 présente son nouveau rapport qui introduit un cadre pour aider les décideurs à comprendre les questions de mise en œuvre de l’évaluation des risques et à renforcer les capacités d’analyse et de gestion des risques. Les points communs et les différences entre les secteurs, le type de portefeuilles et le contexte de disponibilité des données sont présentés à travers plusieurs études de cas. Les défis et les opportunités à venir sont identifiés afin de garantir que les évaluations des risques climatiques fournissent des informations utiles et rigoureuses aux décideurs financiers.

Les webinars suivants ont pour but de fournir des conseils au secteur financier et introduisent les éléments clés pour comprendre les risques climatiques physiques qui les concernent.

Share Button
Share Button