Analysis of the physical risks of climate change intended for financial actors.

CRIS

The CRIS method responds to the emerging demand for information on the possible impacts of climate change on financial assets. The purpose of CRIS is to provide, on the levels of financial institutions and portfolios, physical risk indexes based on 7 direct climate hazards and 9 indirect ones, 60 sectoral vulnerability profiles and 210 sovereign vulnerability profiles. The method is applied to multi-asset investment portfolios (shares and corporate bonds, infrastructures, and government bonds).

Developed in 2017, CRIS is a pioneering method acknowledged by the scientific community and users in a large number of reports. CRIS was declared the most complete physical risk analysis method on the market by UNEP-FI in 2019 and mentioned in a large number of reference reports (Climinvest-I4CE, IIGCC, TCFD, UNEP FI, FFA, NGFS, Finance for Tomorrow).

CRIS is currently used by actors in the financial sector and universities.

A methodological guide is available on crisforfinance.com.

With the publication of CRIS, Carbone 4 and all its sponsors aim to help the world of finance to make advances in these essential issues.

“The CRIS project is innovative due to its scale and approach. To my knowledge, this is the first time that a work on physical climatic risks has been conducted on this scale and exhaustiveness in terms of hazards, countries and economic sectors (industry, transport, agribusiness, etc.). The added value of this work also resides in the pertinence of its enumerative approach which allows taking into account the synergy between risks, something that the statistical approach has difficulty in comprehending.” Gaël Giraud, Chief economist at the AFD

Analyse des risques physiques du changement climatique à destination des acteurs financiers

CRIS

La méthode CRIS se veut une réponse à la demande émergente d’informations sur les impacts possibles du changement climatique sur les actifs financiers. CRIS vise à fournir, au niveau émetteur et au niveau portefeuille, des indices de risque physique basés sur 7 aléas climatiques directs et 9 aléas climatiques indirects, 60 profils de vulnérabilité sectorielle et 210 profils de vulnérabilité souveraine. La méthode s’applique aux portefeuilles d’investissements multi-actifs (actions et obligations corporate, infrastructures, et obligations souveraines).

Créée en 2017, la méthode CRIS est pionnière et reconnue par les communautés scientifiques et utilisateurs dans de nombreux rapports. CRIS a été identifiée comme la méthode d’analyse la plus complète du marché sur les risques physiques par UNEP-FI en 2019 et identifiée dans de nombreux rapports de référence (Climinvest-I4CE, IIGCC, TCFD, UNEP FI, FFA, NGFS, Finance for Tomorrow).

CRIS est actuellement utilisée par des acteurs financiers et des académiques.

Un guide méthodologique est disponible sur crisforfinance.com.

Avec la publication de CRIS, Carbone 4 et l’ensemble de ses sponsors entendent aider le monde financier à progresser sur ces enjeux essentiels.

« Le projet CRIS est novateur à la fois par son envergure et par son approche. C’est la première fois à ma connaissance qu’un travail sur les risques physiques climatiques est réalisé à cette échelle et avec cette exhaustivité en termes d’aléas, de pays et de secteurs économiques couverts (industrie, transport, agro-alimentaire, etc.). La valeur ajoutée de ce travail réside également dans la pertinence de son approche énumérative qui permet de prendre en compte la complémentarité des risques, ce que l’approche statistique peine à appréhender. » Gaël Giraud, Chef économiste à l’AFD